Disable Task View Timeline

When you open the Windows Task View (WINDOWS KEY-TAB), there are three elements.

  • Virtual Desktop Management – Add New Virtual Desktops and Navigate open Desktops (Press SHIFT-TAB to focus in Virtual Desktops)
  • Open Applications – This is the default focus
  • Task View Timeline – Application Windows you’ve opened on previous dates (Press TAB to access the Timeline)

If you don’t want the Task View Timeline, you can disable it in Windows Privacy Settings.

To disable the Task View timeline:

  • Open the Start Menu (WINDOWS KEY or CTRL-ESCAPE)
  • Search for and activate “Privacy Settings” without the quotes

By default, focus is on the first General Privacy setting control.

  • Press SHIFT-TAB once to focus in the settings group list
  • Press UP and DOWN ARROW to navigate the list
  • Press ENTER on “Activity History”

Focus is placed on Activity History settings. Press TAB and SHIFT-TAB to navigate controls.

There are several check boxes that manage how your activity history is shared with Microsoft. Press SPACEBAR to toggle checkboxes.

Configure the following:

  • Store my activity history on this device – Windows saves applications, websites and services you’ve accessed
  • Send my activity history to Microsoft – Your activity history is saved to Microsoft and available on all your Windows devices
  • Show Activities from these accounts – Accounts associated with your computer are listed. You can toggle activity sharing off for one or more accounts
  • Clear – Activate this button to clear activity history from Microsoft’s servers. Your history is removed and isn’t retrievable

If you uncheck all the check boxes, the Timeline is removed.

After configuring these settings, close the settings window (ALT-F4).

The Task View timeline is removed and your activity as tracked according to your specifications.

There are other options in Privacy Settings you may find useful. I encourage exploration!